

One of the larger kiwi species forages along a beach, silhouetted by a setting ocean sun. The kiwi scene is framed by eight silver fern fronds, arguably the number of major areas in the full Realm of New Zealand: New Zealand proper, the Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau, the Ross Dependency, the Chatham Islands, the Kermadec Islands, and the New Zealand Subantarctic Islands. The fly has sixteen red-and-blue stripes, matching the number of official regions in New Zealand proper. With the kiwi, the silver fern fronds, and the Southern Cross, this design incorporates all three of the major international symbols of New Zealand.