

The main areas of the full Realm of New Zealand are New Zealand proper, Tokelau, Niue, the Cook Islands, and the Ross Dependency, which this flag primarily symbolises with a large, five-pointed star in its hoist, but additionally with five vertical stripes in its fly. Moreover, the four stars of the Southern Cross, when taken with that of the hoist, sum to five encircled stars in total. The other prominent feature of the flag is its diagonal cross of four silver fern fronds, which not only provides a unique backdrop for the star in the hoist but which helps to ensure the recognisability of the flag from a distance, whether in a full wind or in none.