

Those who have experienced all sixteen of New Zealand's official regions will agree that each is unique and that all are 'good as'. In this flag design the regions get their just desserts, in the form of a hoist 'emblem' bearing an arrangement of 16 gold stars. The emblem is framed by eight silver fern fronds, symbolising the full Realm of New Zealand: NZ proper, Niue, Tokelau, the Ross Dependency, the Cook Islands, the Chatham Islands, the Kermadec Islands, and the NZ Subantarctic Islands. The 16 distinctive red-and-blue stripes in the fly are also a nod to New Zealand's official regions, and the NZ Southern Cross completes the design.