

Situated roughly halfway between the Equator and the South Pole, the latitudinal band occupied by New Zealand is the ideal, four-season zone for God's own country. Silver fern fronds leave no doubt as to which country occupies the zone, and it is very nearly possible to discern sixteen of them, the number of official regions in New Zealand proper. The rays of the sun most definitely number sixteen, as do the red-and-blue stripes of the fly, on which the traditional New Zealand Southern Cross appears. From the silver ferns in its canton to the stripes and Cross in its fly, this flag design will be easily identifiable as that of New Zealand.