

Surrounding a distinctive red-and-white starburst in the hoist of the flag, a ring of sixteen white stars symbolises the official regions of New Zealand proper. These in turn are framed by eight silver ferns, representing the remaining parts of the full Realm of New Zealand: the Cook Islands, Niue, Tokelau, the Ross Dependency, the Chatham Islands, the Kermadec Islands, the New Zealand Subantarctic Islands, and a final fern to represent the rest of the 600 or so islands that make up the Realm. The sixteen red-and-blue stripes in the fly further represent the official regions of NZ proper, and the iconic New Zealand Southern Cross completes the design. Due to the unique patterns of both its hoist and its fly, this jubilant flag will be easy to recognise from any distance and in any wind conditions.